Skip to content

NWTC earns national award for helping all students, employees succeed

Home » News » 2019 » September
Excellence in Diversity Award logo
Excellence in Diversity Award logo

Insight Into Diversity Magazine names NWTC among “Excellence in Diversity” colleges

Northeast Wisconsin Technical College has been named to a prestigious list of colleges that excel in promoting the success of all students and employees.

Today NWTC received the 2019 Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the oldest and largest diversity-focused publication in higher education. The annual HEED Award is a national honor recognizing U.S. colleges and universities that demonstrate an outstanding commitment to diversity and inclusion.

As a HEED award recipient, NWTC will be featured, along with 92 other recipients, in the November 2019 issue of INSIGHT Into Diversity. This is the first time NWTC has made the list, and NWTC is one of only eight two-year institutions nationwide that received the award.

Lenore Pearlstein, publisher of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, said “The HEED Award process consists of a comprehensive and rigorous application that includes questions relating to the recruitment and retention of students and employees — and best practices for both — continued leadership support for diversity, and other aspects of campus diversity and inclusion. We take a detailed approach to reviewing each application in deciding who will be named a HEED Award recipient. Our standards are high, and we look for institutions where diversity and inclusion are woven into the work being done every day across their campus.” 

The complete list of 2019 HEED Award winners is:

  • Adelphi University
  • Arkansas State University
  • Augustana College (IL)
  • Ball State University
  • California State University, East Bay
  • California State University, Fresno
  • California State University Northridge
  • California State University San Marcos
  • California State University, Fullerton
  • California State University, Los Angeles
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Central Washington University
  • Clemson University
  • Columbia University in the City of New York
  • Cuyahoga Community College
  • Davenport University
  • DePaul University
  • East Carolina University
  • Eastern Washington University
  • El Paso County Community College District
  • Florida State University
  • Framingham State University
  • Georgia State University
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Greenville Technical College
  • Hillsborough Community College
  • Indiana University Bloomington
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Kansas State University
  • Kent State University
  • Lehigh University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Maryville University
  • Metropolitan State University
  • Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Millersville University
  • Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
  • Mississippi State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
  • Northeastern University
  • Ohio University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Pikes Peak Community College
  • Princeton University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • School of the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Seminole State College of Florida
  • Sonoma County Junior College District
  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • State University of New York College of Cortland
  • SUNY Buffalo State College
  • SUNY Old Westbury
  • Swarthmore College
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas Christian University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • The University of Tulsa
  • Union College, NY
  • University at Albany, State University of New York
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Colorado Boulder
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Houston
  • University of Houston Law Center
  • University of Houston-Downtown
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Maryland School of Public Health
  • University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • University of North Florida
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Pittsburgh of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education
  • University of South Carolina
  • University of South Florida
  • University of West Florida
  • University of West Georgia
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Washington State University Vancouver
  • West Virginia University
  • Western Michigan University
  • William & Mary
  • William Marsh Rice University
  • Winston Salem State University

For more information about the 2019 HEED Award, visit

View All News